Republicans Begin Transition Process Throughout the State Capitol

MacIver News Service

Updated 12:50 pm

[Madison, Wisc…] Governor-elect Scott Walker’s top advisor said Monday that their interim office is open, with staff in place to begin the transition to a new Administration.

Gov-elect Walker

“The transition office is open for business,” said John Hiller, Walker transition director. “Governor-elect Walker has moved quickly to begin his transition, assess the state budget situation, and begin implementing his plans for helping the private sector create jobs.”

Last week Walker named Hiller, a long-time confidant and treasurer of his gubernatorial campaign, to the top, albeit temporary post.

Ryan Murray assumes the role of deputy director for policy. Murray served as policy director for the Walker for Governor campaign and played a leadership role in developing Walker’s job creation policy agenda. Murray previously served as Chief of Staff for Senator Randy Hopper (R-Fond du Lac) and Communications Director for Senate Republican Leader Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau).

Joe Fadness becomes the deputy director for operations. Fadness served as a field director for the Republican Party of Wisconsin and served in the Walker for Governor campaign as director of operations, including grassroots organization. Cullen Werwie, press secretary.

Cullen Werwie served as deputy communications director for the Walker for Governor campaign. He served as campaign manager for Brett Davis’s campaign for Lieutenant Governor. Previously, Werwie worked in the Legislature for Senator Joe Leibham (R-Sheboygan) and for Joint Finance Committee Chair, Rep. Kitty Rhoades (R-Hudson). He now serves as press secretary for the Transition Team.

Speaker-elect Fitzgerald

Hiller announced Walker transition team will be launching a webpage to accept resumes as well as solicit ideas from citizens about ways to balance the budget and create jobs in Wisconsin, although the specific web address will not be unveiled until later this week.

The new Assembly Republican Majority gathered Monday for the first time since last week’s elections and voted on their leadership for the coming 100th Session of the State Legislature.

Rep. Jeff Fitzgerald (R-Horicon) is slated to become Speaker of the State Assembly. Bill Kramer (R-Waukesha) will be the Speaker Pro-Tempore. Abbotsford Republican Scott Suder will manage the flow of legislation as Majority Leader. Others elected to posts Monday include new Assistant Majority Leader Dan Knodl (R-Germantown), Republican Caucus Chair Scott Gunderson (Waterford) , Caucus Vice Chair  John Murtha (R-Baldwin) and Representative Mary Williams (R-Medford) was voted Caucus Secretary.

In the Senate, incoming Majority Leader Senator Scott Fitzgerald (R-Juneau) made his appointments to the powerful Joint Committee on Finance. Senator Alberta Darling (R-River Hills) had already been announced as the committee’s co-chair. Joining her as majority party representatives on the panel will be Senators Luther Olsen (R-Ripon) as Vice Chair and Sheila Harsdorf of River Falls, Glenn Grothman of West Bend, Joe Leibham of Sheboygan,and Randy Hopper of Fond du Lac.

Majority Leader-elect Fitzgerald

Tuesday afternoon, Assembly Speaker-elect Jeff Fitzgerald announced  that he has appointed state Representative Robin Vos (R-Rochester) to serve as the Assembly co-chair of the Joint Finance Committee. The Assembly leadership and the Senate Democrats will announce the remaining members of the Finance Committee in the coming days.

The Walker transition is being chaired by Mike Grebe, CEO of the Bradley Foundation, co-chair of the Milwaukee 7 Regional Economic Development Council, and chairman of the Greater Milwaukee Committee. The Walker transition office is located across the street from the State Capitol at: The Risser Justice Center 17 W. Main St. Suite 310.