House Passes Senate Health Care Bill

The House of Representatives passed the Senate health care bill late Sunday night by a vote of 219-212. Wisconsin Democrats Tammy Baldwin (2nd), Ron Kind (3rd), Gwen Moore (4th), Dave Obey (7th) and Steve Kagen (8th) voted ‘yes.’ Wisconsin Republicans Paul Ryan (1st), F. James Sensenbrenner (5th) and Tom Petri (6th) voted ‘no.’ Click here for the official Roll Call.

The Chairman of the House Appropriations Committee, Obey was in the Speaker’s chair when the final vote was taken. Ryan gave one of the more passionate speeches from the floor toward the end of the debate, posted below.